2010 AGM Minutes

Minutes of the NZOSS AGM

28 July 2010


The meeting commenced at 17:15.


Local meeting or IRC:

Francois Marier, Carl Klitscher, Daniel Reurich, Jethro Carr, Mark Foster, Ian Beardslee, Chris Daish, Brenda Wallace, Vik Olliver, Don Christie, Colin Jackson, Grant Paton-Simpson, Peter Harrison, Robin Sheat, Scott Newton, Alick Wilson, Andrew Turner, Dave Lane, Rachel Hamilton-Williams, Joel Wirimu-Pauling

1) Apologies:

Ewen McNeill, Jeremy Naylor


Moved – That the Apologies for the 2010 NZOSS AGM be accepted

Prop – Don Christie

Sec – Carl Klitscher


2) President's Report:

The President's report was published at /system/files/presidents_report_2010.pdf


Moved – That the Presidents Report for the 2010 NZOSS AGM be accepted

Prop – Carl Klitscher

Sec – Don Christie


3) Treasurers Report and Statement of Accounts:

The Treasurers report was presented and is available at /accounts-2010


Questions arising:

  1. What are the donations and how are they recorded – Most of the donations were for a specific purpose, namely the Public Sector Remix project. They were recorded as donations to allow for some flexibility in the way the PSR project results were delivered i.e. as an options paper available to all rather than a specific item of work paid for by a single group.


Moved – Vote of thanks for the Sec/Treas for their efforts

Prop – Mark Foster

Sec – Peter Harrison



Moved – That the Treasurers report and Financial Statements for the 2010 NZOSS AGM be accepted

Prop – Vik Olliver

Sec – Alick Wilson


4) Minutes of the 2009 AGM:

The minutes of the 2009 AGM are posted at /nzoss/administrivia/2009_agm_minutes


Moved – That minutes of the 2009 NZOSS AGM be taken as read

Prop – Carl Klitscher

Sec – Don Christie



5) Election of Officers and Council:

The Constitution allows up to 11 Council members in adition to the elected positions of President and Vice President and the Appointed Officers. All Council members must be financial members of the Society.


We received more nominations (12) than available council positions (11). Don Christie proposed that Council increase available council positions to 12 to cater for the extra volunteer. This is possible under the Constitution and was put to formal Council vote.


Moved – That the Representitives of the Society Members on Council be increaased to 12

Prop – Carl Klitscher

Sec – Mark Foster



Full Council nominee list ratified as follows:

  • Rachel Hamilton-Williams (nominated for President)

  • Peter Harrison (Vice President)

  • Daniel Reurich

  • Vik Olliver

  • Matthew Holloway

  • Brent Wood

  • David Lane

  • Francois Marier

  • Alick Wilson

  • Mark Foster

  • Ian Beardslee

  • Peter Fletcher

  • Brenda Wallace

  • Scott Newton


Moved – That the President, Vice President and council nominees for 2010 be accepted onto Council

Prop – Carl Klitscher

Sec – Don Christie



Appointed Council members are:

  • Don Christie (Past President)

  • Carl Klitscher (Secretary/Treasurer - interim)


Meeting closed at 17:55.